State 13’s and 14’s To Begin National Campaign

The Tasmanian State Under 13 and 14 sides are set to begin their National Youth Championship campaigns in Coffs Harbour today. 

Both Tasmanian teams are in Group B in their age groups. Group B in the Under 13’s contains Northern NSW Country, Northern Territory, NSW Country, NSW Metro White and Queensland Country who they will play against once each. They will also take on Queensland Metro from Group A.

The under 14 squad will take on Northern NSW Country, NSW Country, NSW Metro White, Queensland Country and South Australia Blue there game against Group A opposition is a clash with South Australia Red.

The Under 14 side open up against South Australia Blue at 11am on Monday morning and under 14 side begins against Queensland Country later that afternoon, kicking off at 2:50pm.

The final squads of 16 were picked after a number of try outs and camps, with around 90 players initially trialing for selection.

FFT Competitions Manager and Coach of the Under 14 side Glen Mcneill said the competitions would be a great test for the youngsters.

“The National Championship’s offer a great chance for the best young players in the state to test themselves against the best kids their age in the country.”

“There will be plenty of scouts and national selectors in attendance so it’s a massive opportunity for them to show what they can do.”

He suggested the weather would be one of the toughest factor they have to overcome.

“The forecast is for hot weather which is obviously not what the boys are accustomed to playing in. We play 6 games over the course of the week so it’s going to be a heavy workload that is going to test them physically.”

Under 13 Squad

Taylor Last Devonport Strikers
Harry Preece Northern Rangers
Hugo Schwarz Olympia Warriors
Toby Anderson Ulverstone FC
Oliver Hugo Olympia Warriors
Declan Cahill Burnie United
Jorden Grotegoed South Hobart
Joshua Divin Olympia Warriors
Chidinma Esomeju Devonport Strikers
Will Barker Olympia Warriors
Toby Simeoni Riverside Olympic
Curtis Miley Olympia Warriors
Max Reissig Westside Devils FC
Kaleb Robinson South Hobart
Michael Hurd South Hobart

Under 14 Squad

Charles Bidwell Devonport Strikers
Reef Bourne Burnie United
Keon Pavlides Olympia Warriors
Braeden Griggs Northern Rangers
Aaron Kidmas Northern Rangers
James Hawes Northern Rangers
Ben  Cooper South Hobart
Austin Yost South Hobart
Sam Berazansky New Town Eagles
Otto Schwarz Olympia Warriors
Tate Kingston Olympia Warriors
Josh Jones Hobart Zebras
Bilal Ait Maamar Olympia Warriors
Keiver Chugg Westside Devils
Stefan Tantari Westside Devils
Julian Ashby South Hobart