Football Tasmania has announced senior and youth women’s Tasmanian squads to play against Calder United in Launceston on Thursday, 22 April.

The matches will be played as curtain raisers before Western United host Wellington Phoenix in the A-League at UTAS Stadium as part of the Festival of Football.

Football Tasmania CEO Matt Bulkeley congratulated all selected players, saying it was a wonderful opportunity for them to represent their state and potentially open opportunities to play at a higher level.

“Football is Tasmania’s most played team sport, and we are proud to lead the nation as the state with the highest proportion of female players in Australia at 28 per cent.

“As our participation continues to grow, we are committed to offering our talented players more exposure and pathways to the highest levels of the game, and it’s great the selected players will have the opportunity to test their skills against quality opposition in Calder United.

“It’s not often local players get to play at venues the size and quality of UTAS Stadium, and we’re expecting a strong crowd with the A-League match between Western United and Wellington Phoenix to be played afterwards.

“Football Australia’s Women’s Technical Advisor and Head Coach of the U17 Junior Matildas Rae Dower will be also in attendance, giving an added incentive for Holly Bonertz-Benn, Kate Bonertz-Benn, Eloise Paine, Annalee Bidwell and Jessica McCallum-Smith – who have all been selected in the initial Junior Matildas squad – to put their best foot forward.

“On behalf of Football Tasmania I’d like to congratulate all the selected players for being chosen to represent their state and I encourage them to make the most of the opportunity.

“I’d also like to thank Tasmanian Hand Sanitiser and UPC/AC Renewables Australia for coming on board to support both teams and helping make this special occasion happen.

“I encourage all Tasmanian sports fans to come and experience a taste of elite level football in Launceston next week, and to cheer on our Tasmanian squads as they take on Calder United.”

The Senior and Youth Tasmanian Women’s squads are named below:


Senior Tasmanian Women Youth Tasmanian Women
Player Club  Player  Club
Bonnie Davies Olympia FC Warriors Airlee Lawson Kingborough Lions United FC
Chelsea Dolbel Devonport Strikers Aline Kidd Kingborough Lions United FC
Danielle Kannegiesser Kingborough Lions United FC Amy Coward Kingborough Lions United FC
Eli Cropp Taroona FC Amy Ollington Kingborough Lions United FC
Emily Nellis Ulverstone SC Annalee Bidwell Devonport Strikers
Inocent Michael Olympia FC Warriors Bridie Cooling South Hobart FC
Isolina Ottavi Taroona FC Bronte Gadon Kingborough Lions United FC
Jazmin White Devonport Strikers Chelsea Wing Riverside Olympic FC
Jess Robinson Launceston United SC Eloise Paine Kingborough Lions United FC
Kate Ollerhead Olympia FC Warriors Eve Swain South Hobart FC
Laura Davis Kingborough Lions United FC Georgia Anderson Devonport Strikers
Leah Gubb Olympia FC Warriors Gonya Luate Launceston United SC
Louisa Marnion Clarence Zebras FC Holly Bonertz-Benn Kingborough Lions United FC
Lucy Reimer Ulverstone SC Ineeka Link Taroona FC
Maddy Obrien Clarence Zebras FC Jess McCallum Smith Launceston United
Madi Chambers Olympia FC Warriors Jessica Shreeve Kingborough Lions United FC
Olivia Gardner Kingborough Lions United FC Kate Bonertz-Benn Kingborough Lions United FC
Pishon Choi South Hobart FC Maddy Payne Devonport Strikers
Zoe Nichols Clarence Zebras FC Mia Cane Olympia FC Warriors
Natalia Leszczynski Olympia FC Warriors